Announcing the 2018 WCFA Scholarship Recipients

Helping these exceptional young people is rewarding to us. The process of receiving and reviewing scholarship applications gives us renewed energy and optimism for the future of agriculture and cattle feeding. Thank you to all of the donors who make these financial awards possible. Our annual fundraising golf tournament is a great opportunity to support this program. Get the sponsorship and participation details here. See below to find out which students received this year's scholarships, and more info about our scholarship program.

Peyton Curtis (Ritzville/Cal-Poly San Luis Obispo) John J. Para Memorial

Hadly Dotts (Deer Park/Spokane Community College) Gerd Sievers Memorial

Morgan Smith (Connell/University of Idaho)

Kallie Harder (Ritzville/Washington State University)

Caleb Berquist (LaCrosse/Montana State University)

WCFA Scholarships

The Washington Cattle Feeders Association awards a limited number of $1,000 scholarships to high school students that have graduated and are enrolled in classes or to college students each year for any Washington college or university.  The scholarships are awarded to recipients based on beef community background, academic merit, leadership, activities, personal accomplishments and the demonstrated ability to contribute to the agricultural community. 

The WCFA places a heavy value on the role of education and is appreciative of the contributions from Associate and Executive Club Gold Members who help make the WCFA Scholarship program possible. 

Gerd Sievers and John J. Para Memorial Scholarships

Additionally, one student will receive the $1,500 Gerd Sievers Memorial Scholarship and one student will receive the $1,500 John J. Para Memorial Scholarship.  These two scholarships memorialize two men who were outstanding advocates for cattle feeders and worked tirelessly to enhance opportunities for cattle feeders in Washington State. The Gerd Sievers Memorial was established in 2002 following his passing in 2001 and the John J. Para Memorial began after his passing in August of 2015.  Both memorials have been maintained each year by the generosity of friends and family. Agri Beef made a heartfelt $5,000 contribution in 2003.  

Scholarship Guidelines and Application

Qualified applicants include: high school graduates who will attend a Washington college or university, or a student already enrolled in a degree pertaining to the beef cattle community, or students who may have a history in the beef cattle community. A committee chosen by the Washington Cattle Feeders Association will select the scholarship winners based on beef community background, academic merit, leadership, activities and personal accomplishments, and the demonstrated ability to contribute to the agricultural community. 

Completed applications are due by March 25.  Candidates may be invited to and in-person interview.  Each recipient will be asked to report on his or her activities or studies at a WCFA Board of Directors meeting or at the next annual conference. 

Announcement of the scholarship winners will be made in May, and a presentation will be made at the WCFA annual conference in July.  Students are limited to receiving two (2) WCFA scholarships to ensure as many different students as possible may be awarded a WCFA Scholarship. 


Past Recipients


Kaleigh Driver (Usk/EWU) - John J. Para Memorial

Gracie Dickerson (Colfax/WSU) - Gerd Sievers Memorial

Dakota Olberding (Connell/WSU)

Katie Emerson (Grand Coulee/EOU)

Colby Sooy (Odessa/WSU)

Kallie Harder (Ritzville/WSU)

Tanner Wallace (Quincy/WSU)

Ariel Chapman (Bonney Lake/WSU)


Caitlin Queensberry (Puyallup) - Gerd Sievers Memorial

Madden Shanks (Friday Harbor) - John J. Para Memorial

Emily George (Moxee)

Maxwell Mielke (Davenport) 

Natalie Hurst (Pullman)


Dakota Olberding (Connell) - Gerd Sievers Memorial

Jim Townsend (Okanogan)